Thursday Thoughts: Body Image

attempting to find the meaning of life every thursday…

getting this post in just in time to end a boring thursday, hope you enjoy!

This is going to be shorter thursday thoughts solely because I wrote this post then decided to delete everything because there’s so much I can say about this topic. So in this post about body image i’m going to be talking about my personal issues with myself, how I deal with them, and how I believe society should approach body image.

The decision to write about this came about when I decided I didn’t want to attend a party because of how I looked. As the hours for the party ticked by I wondered about the fun that everyone was having without me. I then realized that this was not an isolated incident. My view on the way I look has prevented me from going out several times and it has also lowered my self confidence and ability to stand up for myself. There is such a strong link between how you view yourself and how you get treated by others. I treat myself as the lowest of the low because I believe that I deserve that because of how I look and my level of success. Its normal to be a little hard on yourself and I totally understand that you are your worst critic but the minute you tell yourself that you’re not good enough you give other people a chance to think so as well. For a long time, I’ve let people walk over me and take advantage of me because I’ve felt like that’s all im good for and I try to see the best in people and offer my help. But the people that I offer my help are often the ones who make me feel the worst about myself. Sometimes I make excuses for these people after they hurt me. I’ll say things like oh they probably didnt mean it or oh its my fault. but its not my fault. it never is. And so when I cry myself to sleep after getting hurt over and over again, I wonder what is it that these people have that makes them better then me. For a long time, I thought it was beauty. I felt like my body and the way I looked wasn’t good enough so therefore i’m not good enough to be treated as human. but now I realize that in reality its confidence. You are beautiful and you have to believe that in order for others to believe it too. I just wish society would recognize the beauty in everyone and stop judging looks and body types. It would make life so much easier. but more on that in a later post. If you are struggling with body image issues just remember that you are beautiful and by believing that you have the power to be invincible against other people’s words. Stand up for yourself and believe in your beauty. I love you 🙂

XOXO, S

Leave a Reply

