Thursday Thoughts: Makeup

Attempting to find the meaning of life every Thursday…

Ahh makeup. I call makeup a guilty pleasure because I’m such a strong believer in accepting yourself but it feels like makeup contradicts all of that. I’m basically lying to people and myself. Now I know that makeup is a form of self-expression and is relatively harmless but in reality most girls use makeup not to play up their natural beauty but to create beauty from tinted chemicals in pretty packages. In my opinion, the notion that girls use makeup to enhance natural beauty and play with different looks is completely untrue. On the other hand, I know that there are some people who have truly accepted themselves and use makeup as a statement rather than a disguise. I admire these kinds of people because I know I would much rather have a fully done makeup look than going out bare faced. The reality is that I should be fine with both and makeup should be used as an art form NOT as a standard of beauty. Why is that a bride wears makeup on her wedding day? Shouldn’t the day her and her spouse are united be the day when she is truly herself and not wearing makeup? Since when did special occasions translate into girls wearing makeup? Why is a woman taken more seriously in meetings when her face is “put on”?

I LOVE makeup because it’s so fun for me to try out different products, put it on, and see the results. I love the way my face looks with makeup and I love talking to people about makeup but sometimes I feel like I’m a hypocrite for talking about accepting yourself when using makeup is changing yourself to be “prettier”. Anyways since I have a couple papers to write, I’ve decided to expand on this topic later and leave you with this short rant.

Thanks for reading!

XOXO, S

P.S. Why don’t guys wear makeup? so frustrating!!

Leave a Reply

