Thursday Thoughts: Friendship

Attempting to find the meaning of life every Thursday…

So in Monday Musings I talked about friends and high school a little and then promised that I would write a full length post about the topic. I then realized that I have a lot to say about a variety of different issues. After all, isn’t that what blogging is about? So I created Thursday Thoughts to voice my opinions about the more broad, ambiguous life topics that we often forget about while rushing through our lives. I know these weekday titles can get annoying but it motivates me to actually get a post up.

So this week’s topic is friendship. Obviously I will be talking about this through a series of posts because I don’t really want to write a novel but today I wanted to explore the idea of friends being linked to happiness. Lately I’ve been feeling kind of low because it feels like I’m alone all the time. Even when I’m talking to someone, I don’t really feel like I’m a part of something. I’m not a total loner and I have people that I’ve labeled as “friends” but it’s become clear to me that I’ve simply been avoiding the fact that I don’t really have a ride or die.

Now that I’m trying a more positive outlook on life, I’m starting to realize that being alone can actually be a blessing. I’ve spent a lot of time sulking over the fact that while everyone else goes out with their friends to make memories that will last a lifetime, I’ve simply been witness to these great times on Instagram. Even though I don’t have a Blair to my Serena, it doesn’t mean that I won’t ever find “my person”. And in actuality you don’t ever need to find “your person”. True happiness comes from yourself. At the end of the day, you are the only person who truly has your best interest at heart and can achieve your desires. No one else will chase after your dreams for you. I know that that’s a morbid way of looking at the world considering that support from friends and family usually play a major role in achieving success but at the end of the day you need to provide for yourself. I think that in this “me” time, I’m going to focus on myself and explore what I really want in life through this blog and other experiences. I’m so lucky to have a really amazing family so that I don’t feel completely alone.

If you’re in a position where you don’t feel like you have “your people” then I’m here to tell you that it’s ok. It’s still possible to be happy. Try to find yourself through writing, check a few things off your bucket list, and dance because nobody’s watching.  Anyone who tells you that life’s more fun with people to share it with is a liar because life is what you make it. That being said, don’t make your entire life a period of self-reflection. It’s beneficial to have a period of being by yourself but having friends is amazing as well. So don’t forget to put yourself out there. I’ve gotten hurt by fake friends countless times because I get excited at the prospect of a lifetime relationship and even though the backstabbing hurts, I’m still standing and I know that when I do find my real friends, I’m going to appreciate them even more :). I also want to say that if you read through all of this, thank you! Even though we don’t know each other, you can count on me to be one of your people. I would really appreciate your input in the comments below as this is my first Thursday Thoughts.

Hope you enjoyed!

XOXO, S

P.S. I’m working on posts with pictures! Any pictures that you see on this blog are taken by me unless stated otherwise. Watch out for a Friday Faves and a Makeup Routine! Also, I know my blog only has a thoughts tab but eventually I’m going to have beauty, eat, create, and maybe more!

Leave a Reply

